Sometimes I Hear God Speak to Me, Am I Crazy?


Sometimes I “hear” God “speak” to me.  Does that mean I am crazy?  I can’t produce an audio recording of God’s voice.  But, I definitely sense God speaking to me.  There is no scientific explanation for such “a small, silent voice,” but I find it reasonable to categorize it as a religious or spiritual experience that can only be traced to an eternal power bigger than myself that somehow exists both inside and beyond me.  Theologians say God is omnipresent—able to be present everywhere at the same time.  I would also coin another term—“omni-interested.”  God is interested in a personal relationship with everyone.  Before I was ten, I sensed the interest of God in forming a friendship with me. I slowly learned I could speak to God and often sense an answer either through reading scripture, moments of silence, and being instructed by preaching and teaching.  It is difficult for me to describe how I hear God.  It is easy to define the action of talking to God.  I just start telling God about my reasons to be happy or sad, my problems and plans, my sins and my spiritual victories, and I feel an invisible listening ear.

Talking or Listening?

The other side of the friendship—God’s initiative and inaudible voice directed to me is more complex to explain.  God doesn’t use sound waves to speak to me.  God doesn’t have a voice that depends on how well my ears discern sounds.  Instead, God’s “voice” travels on a spiritual plane that is pure mystery.  It is heard because of a special sensitivity given to the created by the creator.  Sometimes, I hear God when I am not attentive to God.  God spoke to me before I realized God spoke to anyone.  In fact, God spoke to me before I knew God really existed.  God initiated our communication.  I believe that God uses my mind and my feelings to speak to me.  My mind perceives some “voice” that comes from an internal “spiritual” me.  I can only say that God has put an invisible something that acts as an interpretation station that translates God’s communication to me in a way that I can hear it.  The Bible says it is God’s Holy Spirit dwelling within us.  Jesus put it this way, “If you love me, keep my commands. And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another advocate to help you and be with you forever–the Spirit of truth. The world cannot accept him, because it neither sees him nor knows him. But you know him, for he lives with you and will be in you.”  John 14:15-17

I am thankful I can talk to God.  But I am more thankful that sometimes I get an answer.

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

