Growing Up in the Midwest


The Importance of Making Correct Decisions

I learned three basic tenets to guide my decision-making. First, I leaned heavily on the teaching and example of my parents. “Fathers, do not provoke your children to anger, but raise them up in the discipline and instruction of the Lord” (Ephesians 6:4). Second, I learned the steps of the scientific method. I learned to identify a problem, identify all possible solutions, try the best option, and use trial and error to finally decide upon the best solution. Third, I learned more about the mandates for happiness and right living in the Old and New Testament. That wisdom straightened my path and heightened my discernment between good and evil. Pragmatism and spirituality combined to offer me the tools for dependable answers to problems.

 

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

